Mineral Point Schools

Mineral Point Schools are an important part of our community. From early childhood education to high school graduation, we pride ourselves on excellent opportunities for academic, fine arts and athletic achievement.

In 1837, the first public school in the Wisconsin territory was opened in Mineral Point. It has been taxpayer supported continuously since 1862. The Mineral Point School District is a PK – 12 district with a current enrollment of 807, a number that has remained relatively stable since 1995. The district operates two schools including the Mineral Point Elementary School (368 students, PK- 5) and the Mineral Point Middle/High School (193 students, grades 6-8;246 students, grades 9-12). A new middle/high school facility was opened in 1996. The school district employs 66 teachers, three administrators, and 16 full-time or part-time educational assistants.

The Mineral Point Unified School District encompasses all the City of Mineral Point, parts of the Iowa County towns of Mineral Point, Linden. Mifflin and Waldwick, and parts of the Lafayette County towns of Kendall, Fayette and Willow Springs. The district is one of forty-eight unified school districts in Wisconsin having changed from a city system in 1962 A total of thirty-four rural school districts consolidated over the years into what now comprises the Mineral Point School District – an area of about 150 miles.
Click below for more information about our schools.